Server Workload!

A

Arpan

I am a newbie in ASP.NET (using VB.NET) & work on Windows 2000 Professional.

I find that the client browser just doesn't play any role other than rendering the page in HTML & the server does all the work. Even the various HTML/Web controls are validated by the server. So ASP.NET relying so much on the server to do even a small task - doesn't this put extra load on the server & in the process,slow down the retrieval time of ASPX pages? A Form can easily be validated using a client-side script like JavaScript (wherein the server has no idea of those validations). Now since the onus of validating the different Form fields is on the client, the result is instantaneous. For e.g. if a user submits a Form without providing his name, an alert message box will get generated at once telling him to enter his name. This not only will ensure that the client needn't "talk" to the server every now and then & increase the workload on the server which may be catering to hundreds of requests at that time but also will minimize users' time during the transaction. Or is it something like the benefits of ASP.NET far outweigh its drawbacks & deficiencies?

The validation part is just an example I have cited.

Thanks,

Arpan

F

Fredrik Elestedt

You can let the client validate the input - it is actually directly supported by controls such as RegularExpressionValidator or CustomValidator.
CustomValidator will let you specify a client-side script to execute.

Doing validation does make the server work a little bit more and probably should be done on the client as well. I say as well because not doing it on the server opens up for SQL Injection for example.

If there are any drawbacks with ASP.NET I don't know about them...